McBob’s Pub and Grill

22 Sep

 

For last Sunday’s game against the Carolina Panther’s (Packers W 30-23), I visited McBob’s Pub and Grill on 49th and North Ave.  McBob’s has long been a favorite bar for my family to watch Packer games on Sundays.  The atmosphere is very laid back, which is just what I was looking for given the rainy weather and my busy weekend.  With Kim out of town, I recruited my friends Vinny and Maggie to accompany me.

McBob’s Pub and Grill is an Irish bar on the West side.  The decor is pretty traditional with a decent amount of TVs so that you can watch the games from every angle.  They were also playing the Brewers game on one big screen, which was good.  We can’t forget about the Brewers this month!

The crowd at McBob’s is always pretty diverse in terms of race, age, etc., and I would say most people live in the neighborhood.  There were a few families enjoying the game, and I remember going there as a kid to meet up with my extended family after church on Sundays.  I would definitely say there were some major Packer fans in the bar, but the crowd wasn’t quite as loud as at M.O.C.T.  During the playoffs, I’m all about the loud bars with crazy fans, but I tend to prefer atmospheres like McBob’s for games early in the season.

The bartenders at McBob’s are attentive but relaxed, and the prices are good.  My favorite part has to be the Celtic tacos.  For $4- $6, you get a giant taco that is extremely filling and soooo good.  Celtic tacos at McBob’s look more like burritos but don’t have the extra rice and beans.  They’re only served  on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.  The bar also has other food on the menu, including “Award-Winning Corned Beef.”  Vinny, Maggie, and I all got the beef tacos.  The meat was seasoned perfectly and there was so much of it.  Maggie and I also got Blood Mary’s, which were delicious.  I love spicy Bloody Mary’s, and McBob’s will make it as spicy as you want.  They also give you a beer chaser and lots of garnish- sausage, cheese, a pickle, and an olive.

I will definitely be going back to McBob’s again and again for Packer games, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for inexpensive, really good food and drinks, in a relaxed neighborhood setting.

McBob’s Pub and Grill

4919 W. North Ave.

Milwaukee, WI 53208

http://www.foodspot.com/Clients/WI/Milwaukee/McBobsPubandGrill/default.aspx?fs=3&fsp=896&accid=21587

-Megan

Leave a Reply

