Thanksgiving: Packers beat the Lions, 27-15!!!

4 Dec

This post is very, very overdue!  I apologize!  Not only is it more than one week overdue, but I am also posting it the day of another game:/

We are 11-0!!!!!  It feels great!  I was nervous about Thanksgiving’s game because of how well the Lions have been playing, but it looks like we still managed to get the job done! On Thanksgiving, Kim and I decided not to go to any bars to watch.  Instead, we both watched with our families before our Thanksgiving meals.  We learned a ton about football, and our dads made us give our undivided attention to what was going on.  We always watch the games with Project Green and Yellow, but there is always so much else to focus on too- we have to people watch and study the bar so that we can give our best analysis of the experience.  We’ve also never had anyone explain every single play and call to us, so sometimes, I’m not going to lie, I only cheer when I hear everyone else cheer….But now that’s all going to change, because my dad explained everything to my sister and I, and I now feel like I understand 90% of what is going on!

Every Thanksgiving, we usually go to my aunt and uncle’s in Cedarburg for lunch, and then go to my Grandparents’ for dinner.  This year, we didn’t go to Cedarburg, so I made tortilla soup for lunch and brought it to my parents’ house.  This soup is the only thing I know how to cook.  Luckily, it was perfect for Thanksgiving lunch and to serve during a Packer game.  It’s relatively healthy, depending on how much stuff you add to it, it serves a lot of people, and it has a lot of flavor.  I didn’t have my camera with me, so the iPhone pictures are I took of the meal are all I’ve got…

Tastes better than it looks, I promise.

Tortilla Thanksgiving Packer 11-0 Soup…

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons Olive Oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 tablespoon garlic, chopped

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon dried oregano

Red pepper flakes or red pepper to taste.  I like it spicy.

6 cups chicken stock

2 tablespoons tomato paste

2 very ripe large tomatoes, or 1 28 ounce can of whole tomatoes, undrained

2 jalapenos, seeded and minced

1 pound cooked chicken, shredded (this is optional…I’ve never made it with chicken)

1/4 cup cilantro (I usually do even less than this because I really don’t like cilantro)

Juice of 1 fresh lime

Tortilla chips (I use the lemon tortilla chips from El Rey or Mannie’s)

1 cup Cotija cheese, shredded, or a block of Monterrey Jack cheese, cubed

1 avocado, cut into chunks

Directions:

Heat the oil in a large soup pan on medium heat.  Add the onion, jalapenos, garlic, cumin, and oregano.  Cook and stir frequently, until the onions are soft.

Add the chicken stock, tomatoes, tomato paste, shredded chicken, cilantro, and lime juice.  Bring to a boil, and then lower the heat to simmer.  Let the soup cook for 30 minutes.  This soup is even better the next day.

To Serve:

Place avocado chunks and cheese at the bottom of a soup bowl.  Pour soup on top.  Place broken tortilla chips on the top.  Enjoy!

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving:)  I am thankful for my friends, family, the Packers, and Project Green and Yellow.

-Megan

Leave a Reply

